In 1869, in a time when banking services were a privilege available to relatively few, Dime Savings Bank of Norwich was founded. The mutual savings bank was established to provide banking opportunities to all the people of its community. In the intervening years, Dime Savings Bank of Norwich has become Dime Bank. It has grown from one branch serving one community to twelve branches serving communities throughout southeastern Connecticut and the Westerly/Pawcatuck area. Still, we remain a mutual bank, committed to helping our communities.

In 1998, Dime Bank established The Dime Foundation, enabling the bank to support and give back to the communities it serves, providing funding for charitable, cultural, literary, scientific and educational non-profit organizations. In its first year, more than $50 thousand was distributed.

The foundation has three grant cycles per year. The grant application can be downloaded here, or obtained directly through Dime Bank. The next round of grant applications are due by March 20, 2017. Please be aware that a post grant report is required within one year of receiving a grant.

2017 deadlines: March 20, July 3 and October 24

Click here for the fact sheet

Click here to view our Foundation brochure

Click here to download the Grant Application (PDF)

Click here to download the Post Grant Report

The Foundation's Board Members include:


  • Nicholas Caplanson, President
  • David Stanland, Vice President & Treasurer
  • Cheryl Calderado, Vice President
  • Deirdre Sullivan, Secretary

  • Steven L. Bokoff
  • Lee-Ann Gomes
  • Roland J. Harris
  • James M. Kirker, Esq.
  • Linda L. Mariani, Esq.
  • Robert A. Staley
  • Mark E. Tramontozzi, M.D.


Enroll:   Personal | Business

Open an Account:

Mortgage Application